The gate, in its current design, was built in the late 18th century and until 1919, the Brandenburg Gate was only used by members of the royal family; this ended with the rise of the Weimar republic. The Nazis used the gate as a party symbol. Following WW2, the gate was one of the only structures still standing in Pariser Platz and evidence of the destruction in Berlin. It is fascinating to learn that both the East and West Berlin authorities worked together to help repair the gate. However, it stood in East Berlin, and became closed once the Wall came into existence. The Gate finally reopened on December 22nd 1989 in a symbolic moment when West German Chancellor Kohl walked through it to greet the East German Prime Minister. The Gate was, at the time, a symbol of reunification.